Experts Speak

Leading academics, journalists and practitioners share their insights in in-depth interviews.

  • Lecturer in the Department of Politics and International Relations at the University of Oxford and Director of the Oxford Q-Step Centre
  • Reader in International Politics at Queen Mary University of London
  • Director of the British Museum
  • Communication Expert at International Centre for Migration Policy Development
  • Documentary Filmmaker and Executive Director of Romedia Foundation
  • Historian of Europe, Yale University
  • Dahrendorf Lecture 2020: 'Germany, Europe, and the West'
  • Museum Director at the House of European History in Brussels
  • Conservative Hungarian Intellectual

The recordings below present a selection of panel discussions from past Europe’s Stories events.

  • Kostis Kornetis (Autonomous University of Madrid)
    Isabell Hoffmann (eupinions, Bertelsmann  Foundation)
    Jennifer Dowd (Oxford)
    Maeve Moynihan (Europe’s Stories)
    Chair: Timothy Garton Ash (Oxford)

  • Adam Bodnar (SWPS University and former Ombudsman of the Republic of Poland)
    Zsolt Enyedi (Central European University and Oxford)
    Marta Bucholc (University of Warsaw)

    Chair: Timothy Garton Ash (Oxford)
    Convenor: Marcin Walecki (Oxford)

  • (Part 1)
    Isabell Hoffmann (eupinions, Bertelsmann Foundation)
    Katrin Bennhold (New York Times)
    Christian Rauh (WZB)
    Daniel Judt (Oxford)
    Chair: Hartmut Mayer (Oxford)

  • (Part 2)
    Andras Lanczi (Corvinus University Budapest and A Europe We Can Believe In)
    Slawomir Sierakowski (Krytyka Polityczna, Warsaw)
    Damian Boeselager (Volt Europa)
    Gisela Stuart (Labour Party and Change Britain, UK).
    Chair: Rana Mitter (Oxford)

  • (Part 3)
    Andrew Hurrell (Oxford)
    Kalypso Nicolaidis (Oxford)
    Carolin Duttlinger (Oxford)
    Chair: Rasmus Nielsen (Oxford)

  • (Part 4)
    Ian Kershaw (author of To Hell and Back: Europe, 1914-1949 and Roller-­Coaster: Europe, 1950-2017)
    Andreas Wirsching (author of Der Preis der Freiheit: Geschichte Europas in unserer Zeit)
    Margaret MacMillan (Toronto/Oxford)
    Chair: Paul Betts (Oxford)

  • (Part 5)
    Steffen Sammler (Georg Eckert Institute)
    Constanze Itzel (House of European History, Brussels)
    Katie Ebner-Landy (Dash Arts)
    Michael Schwarz (Stiftung Mercator)
    Chair: Karl-Heinz Paqué (Friedrich-Naumann-Stiftung für die Freiheit)

  • (Part 6)
    Ayyam Sureau (Association Pierre Claver, Paris)
    Katalin Barsony (Romedia, Budapest)
    Ayse Kadioglu (Sabanci University, Istanbul)
    Chair: Ruth Harris (Oxford)

  • (Part 7)
    Pratap Bhanu Mehta (Ashoka University, Delhi)
    Sonia Lucarelli (University of Bologna)
    Khaled Fahmy (Cambridge)
    Chair: Faisal Devji (Oxford)

  • (Part 8)
    Natalie Nougayrède (Guardian)
    Daniel Judt (Oxford)
    Chair: Timothy Garton Ash (Oxford)