Establishment of the Schengen Area



Born: 1963
Occupation: Secretary
Location: Germany
Born: 1991
Occupation: Junior Research Fellow, Jesus College, University of Oxford
Location: Germany
Born: 1974
Occupation: Editor in Chief, EUobserve
Born: 1991
Occupation: Academic research fellow
Location: Germany
Born: 1964
Occupation: Engineering consultant
Location: United Kingdom
For most Europeans, the freedom of movement is a cherished tenet of the EU. The 1995 creation of the Schengen Area removed internal border controls for EU citizens. Under the agreement, EU citizens could move freely within the initial seven Schengen member countries, which dramatically changed the ability to travel, live, work, and study within the EU. Twenty-six countries are now Schengen members.