Treaty of Rome



Born: 1997
Occupation: Researcher
Location: Ukraine
Born: 1996
Occupation: PhD Student
Born: 1943
Occupation: American-French composer and songwriter
Location: France
The 1957 Treaty of Rome established the European Economic Community which included the creation of the customs union, the single market, and more. Signed by France, Belgium, Luxembourg, France, the Netherlands, and West Germany, the Treaty came into effect in January 1958, and continues to be a crucial underpinning of contemporary EU institutions.