Creation of the European Coal and Steel Community



Born: 1994
Occupation: Masters Student
Born: 2000
Occupation: Student in International Studies
Location: Netherlands
In 1952, the Treaty of Paris established the European Coal and Steel Community, uniting France, West Germany, Italy, Belgium, the Netherlands, and Luxembourg into an integrated steel and coal network. Designed to make war economically impossible, this organisation was the first step on the path to European integration, and would later form the basis of the European Economic Community.