Dahrendorf Programme

Our team visits the Bernauer Straße Berlin Wall memorial

What story should Europe tell in the 21st-century? What do we want the EU to do by 2030? Our team, based in Oxford University, are going out to ask a wide range of Europeans about their formative, best and worst European moments. We are talking in greater depth to a number of Europeans, hearing their reflections on Europe's stories – and their own. We have also analysed a wide range of public opinion survey data, and are doing our own special polling in collaboration with the Eupinions project. The results are shown on the three main pages of this website, Moments, Stories and Opinions. We would also love to have your contribution. Contact us about anything else here.

This website is just one important component of our larger 'Europe's Stories' research project, part of the Dahrendorf Programme for the Study of Freedom at the European Studies Centre, St Antony's College, Oxford University.  Podcasts created in the context of the Europe's Stories project are available here

The project is directed by Professor Timothy Garton Ash and the Research Manager is Selma Kropp. For the project team see here. An advisory committee consists of leading Oxford academics: Professor Paul BettsDr Jonathan BrightProfessor Faisal DevjiProfessor Carolin Duttlinger Professor Robert GildeaProfessor Ruth HarrisDr Sudhir HazareesinghProfessor Andrew HurrellDr Hartmut Mayer, Professor Kalypso Nicolaidis, Professor Rasmus Nielsen and Professor David Priestland.

The Dahrendorf Programme for the Study of Freedom at the University of Oxford commemorates the third Warden of St. Antony’s College, Ralf Dahrendorf. Dahrendorf was one of the leading social and political thinkers of his time, and the programme is dedicated to a subject central to his work and life.  It has three main components:  a Research Agenda which includes the Europe's Stories project and the Free Speech Debate project; an annual Ralf Dahrendorf Memorial Lecture; and an annual group of competitively selected Dahrendorf Scholars.